Brussels: Parking 58 has lived. Originally built to welcome visitors from the World Expo in Brussels in 1958, Parking 58 marks the beginnings of Interparking, which 59 years later operates more than 800 car parks. The first building to offer parking spaces on several levels in the center of Brussels, Parking 58 was the fruit of an intuition of the brothers De Clercq, founders of the company, returning from a trip to the United States.
After difficult beginnings, the Parking 58 will find its rhythm of cruising from the mid 60s. It must be said that the car park had serious assets: a stone's throw from the stock market, restaurants and shopping streets, it offers from the opening large 4-by-2 meter spaces thanks to a unique system of beams that combine concrete and steel, designed by architect Abraham Lipsky.
For almost 60 years, the "P58" will remain one of the essential car parks of the "hypercentre" of Brussels, while hosting Interparking's headquarters.
But the beautiful stories also have an end. On August 1st at 8 am, it will definitely close its doors. The work of the future administrative center of the city of Brussels, “Brucity”, will start on the site. The project will be carried out by AG Real Estate. For its part, Interparking has moved its head office to Brederode Street, still in the center of Brussels.
Nevertheless, the offer of car parks in the city center remains abundant and ample enough to welcome visitors. Just a few steps away from the pedestrian zone, Interparking offers the Monnaie, De Brouckère and Ecuyer car parks, which together gather more than 1500 parking spaces.